That Ole Black Magic

Erzulie

Been thinking a bit about the world’s obsession with things that are “dark”. For the record I’m not an occultist of any stripe. I get a bit superstitious sometimes if I’m exhausted… or under great pressure. For a time – a long time ago – I looked at Crowley – tarot, astrology and the qabala, and through hindu philosophy – the theories of raga and time and season as elements of performance. This led me to develop some concepts based on Western Occultism to generate pieces of music using the hierarchies of Hebrew / Renaissance philosophy.

What all this made me realise is – although the occult stuff is bullshit – it’s extremely interesting bullshit. As a stimuli for fantasy it’s – well – fantastic… And using these theories as a composition tool – (the hebrew letters have a numerical and sonic value) I can tell you – the demonic hierarchy DEFINITELY produces more interesting pieces than the Angelic.

More later – possibly…

Enjoy Erzulie – she’s a cutie – even with the dagger and the seven cuts…

~ by Phillip Barker on 18 November, 2007.

One Response to “That Ole Black Magic”

  1. Dagger AND seven cuts? My kinda girl–and my fav number! 😛 😉

Leave a Reply

 
